Wyatt Employment Law Report

Leave a comment

NLRB Nominations Considered by the Senate HELP Committee

By Edwin S. Hopson

As part of the agreement regarding the Senate filibuster rules, on July 23, 2013, the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee held about a two hour hearing on the President’s recent nominations of Kent Yoshiho Hirozawa and Nancy Jean Schiffer to be Members of the National Labor Relations Board.  Both faced stiff questioning from Republican Senators on the Committee.  On July 24, 2013, the Committee is scheduled to vote on the nominations, to be followed by a vote by the full Senate later in the week on the nominations of Hirozawa, Schiffer and current NLRB Chairman, Mark Pearce.  It is not clear whether the full Senate will also vote on the confirmation of Republicans Harry Johnson and Philip Miscamarra, whose nominations were earlier favorably voted out of committee.